Strawberry Hill House (c. Derek Winterburn)

About the Historic Houses Foundation


The Historic Houses Foundation (HHF) is a charitable grant-giving foundation which was set up in 2005 as the Country Houses Foundation, changing its name in 2019 following the merger with the Heritage Conservation Trust. The objects of the Foundation are: 

  • to advance the preservation, for the public benefit, of buildings of sufficient historic or architectural significance or importance to merit preservation together with their gardens and grounds, and 

  • to protect and augment the amenities and furnishings, and artwork of any such buildings, gardens and grounds. 

The Historic Houses Foundation was born out of the Country Houses Association, an Industrial and Provident Society which was formed in 1955 by Admiral Greathed for the purposes of preserving historic buildings for the benefit of the nation. 

During its lifetime, the Association acquired nine large country houses, and restored and preserved these until their sale in 2003 and 2004. During their ownership by the Association, all the houses were converted into retirement apartments, with the rental income helping to pay for extensive renovations and repairs. The houses were open to members of the Association and also members of the public. 

Following a restructuring of the Association in 2004, all the properties were sold resulting in a substantial surplus. The majority of these funds have been donated to the Country Houses Foundation to ensure that the work of preserving historic buildings continues. 

It is the intention of the HHF Trustees that these funds will be used to award substantial grants to the most deserving of qualifying projects 



  • Nicholas Barber CBE

  • Richard Compton

  • Norman Hudson OBE (Chairman)

  • Sir Andrew Jardine

  • Mary King

  • Jeremy Musson

  • Sir John Parsons KCVO

  • Oliver Pearcey

  • Matthew Rice



  • David Price